Margaret Atwood wins 2016 PEN Pinter Prize

Author of several books like Oryx and Crake,The Blind Assassin, The Robber Bride and others Margaret Atwood--the Canadian poet, novelist and environmental activist has been awarded the 2016 PEN Pinter Prize by English Pen--the founding centre of a global literary network.
Atwood will receive her award in October this year.

The judges at English Pen praised Atwood as a ‘consistent supporter of political causes’, adding ‘her work championing environmental concerns comes well within the scope of human rights … she is a very important figure in terms of the principles of PEN and of Harold Pinter’.

The PEN Pinter Prize was established in 2009 by English PEN, founding centre of the worldwide writers’ association and freedom of expression charity, in memory of Nobel-Laureate playwright Harold Pinter.

*source Official website of English Pen 

No comments:

Theme images by sndr. Powered by Blogger.